Follow Us On
(TheFSMB) on Twitter
(TheFSMB) on LinkedIn
Home About Us Contact Us


Centennial Celebration 1912 - 2012 | Publications
Soon after its founding in 1912, the Federation of State Medical Boards began publication of a quarterly journal. The publication has undergone multiple changes over the course of a century, including name, formatting and publication schedule.

First published in 1913 as the Quarterly of the Federation of State Boards of the United States, the publication was renamed in April 1915 as the Monthly Bulletin when the Federation adopted a monthly publication schedule. In January 1921, the name was revised again to the Federation Bulletin. This name and the monthly publication schedule continued until 1999 when Federation returned to a quarterly publication schedule under the name the Journal of Medical Licensure and Discipline. In 2010, the name was revised to the Journal of Medical Regulation.

During the long course of its publication, the Journal benefited from the talents of many editors but several stand out. Otto Huffman served as the publication's first editor from 1913 to 1915 before Walter Bierring commenced his 45 year tenure as editor. During Bierring's early tenure he benefited from the assistance of a co-editor, N.P. Colwell. Robert Derbyshire (1962-1968) and Ray Casterline (1969-1992) guided the publication for 30 years. Since then a succession of Federation staff members (e.g., Dale Breaden) served as managing editor under the guidance of the chair of the FSMB Editorial Committee.

You are invited to enjoy sample issues from the Quarterly/Bulletin/Journal drawn from every decade of the Federation's first century.


  • FSMB Journal 2010
  • FSMB Journal 2005
  • FSMB Journal 1993
  • FSMB Journal 1985
  • FSMB Journal 1975
  • FSMB Journal 1969
  • FSMB Journal 1955
  • FSMB Journal 1947
  • FSMB Journal 1936
  • FSMB Journal 1925
  • FSMB Journal 1913



Home | Privacy Policy | A-Z Index
2015 Federation of State Medical Boards

FSMB Home Page FSMB Centennial Celebration | 1912 - 2012