Texas Medical Board

TEXAS MEDICAL BOARD TEXAS PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT BOARD TEXAS STATE BOARD OF ACUPUNCTURE EXAMINERS SAFEGUARDING THE PUBLIC THROUGH PROFESSIONAL ACCOUNTABILITY



The Texas Medical Board's origins date to the year after the Battle of the Alamo and Texas' declaration of independence from Mexico. In 1837, Dr. Anson Jones, a surgeon to the Texas army during the Texas Revolution and one of the few formally trained physicians in the state at that time, wrote the state's first Medical Practice Act. The Congress of the Republic of Texas then created the Board of Medical Censors for the purposes of administering examinations and granting medical licenses. Both documents are signed by Sam Houston, the president of the Republic of Texas and one of the most controversial and colorful figures in Texas history.

Shortly after Texas became part of the United States, the Board of Medical Censors was discontinued in 1848 by a general repealing law passed by the newly formed state legislature in 1847. For the next quarter century - a period which included the Mexican War, the Civil War and some of the Reconstruction era - Texas lawmakers made no regulatory laws concerning medical practice. But in 1873, legislators passed a law creating a Board of Examiners in each county and requiring physicians to have a degree from a medical school or a certificate from one of the county Boards of Medical Examiners. The Texas State Board of Medical Examiners was formed in 1907, replacing the county level system of regulation. The first Board included 11 physician members appointed by the governor and confirmed by the senate.

Legislation passed in 1981 mandated that three public members be added to the Board. The size of the board and the role of public members expanded several times. In 1993, the legislature added responsibilities for licensing physician assistants and acupuncturist to the agency, creating the Physician Assistant Board and the Board of Acupuncture Examiners. In 2005, the Texas State Board of Medical Examiners' name was shortened to Texas Medical Board. In 2012 - 175 years since Dr. Anson Jones crafted the first Medical Practice Act for the fledgling Republic of Texas - the Board has grown both in size and responsibility. Today the Board has 19 members, seven of whom are non-physicians, and the agency oversees the regulation of more than 60,000 physicians.

Over the years, numerous members from the Texas board have served in key leadership positions at the Federation. Former Texas board members who served as the Federation's elective President/Chair include Drs. Thomas J. Crowe, 1932-33; N. D. Buie, 1946-47; McKinley Crabb, 1955-56; Charles Godinez, 1984-85; William Fleming, III, 1998-99; and Thomas Kirksey, 2003-2004.

Two former members of the Texas board have served as the President/Chief Executive Officer of the Federation - Drs. McKinley Crabb (1962-1977) and <u>James R. Winn</u> (1989-2001).

Texas recipients of the Federation's John H. Clark Leadership Award include Drs. <u>Max Butler</u> and <u>Clifford Burross</u>, both of whom were deeply active in the FLEX and USMLE programs.