Oklahoma State Board of Osteopathic Examiners



Created by the Oklahoma Legislature in 1921, the <u>Oklahoma</u> <u>State Board of Osteopathic Examiners</u> was located for many years in the clinic of David Simpson, D.O. in Atoka, Okla. All licensing applications and paperwork were stored in the clinic. Dr.

Simpson served as board member and board president and his nurse acted as board staff.

The first license was granted on Aug. 15, 1921, to Claude Denton Heasley, D.O., by reciprocity. Dr. Heasley was the obstetrician who delivered Paul F. Benien, Jr. Benien played football for the University of Oklahoma, became an osteopathic physician and later served as president of the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association and the osteopathic board. The second license was granted to Ellen Herrington Shultz, D.O. on the same date. Currently, there are more than 5,000 licensees of the board.

In the early 1970s, the board moved to its first real office rented from the <u>Oklahoma Osteopathic</u> <u>Association</u>. One staff member, Mary Plender, fulfilled all board staff functions. In the early 1980s, the first public member, Dan Rogers, J.D., was appointed to the board. In 1986, the board moved to its current location and hired its first investigator, Nina Hagler. In 1990, Gary Clark was hired as the board's first executive director. He expanded the vision for the board to include a national presence and was instrumental in organizing <u>Administrators in Medicine</u>.

Among the notable contributors to the board over the years are Glenn Smith, D.O. who served on the board for 19 years, served as president for three terms and now serves as a medical advisor on the board's Case Review Committee; Ed Felmlee, D.O. who was instrumental in creating the Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine; Thomas Pickard, D.O. and Maurice Payne, D.O., who were among the first board members to be appointed to FSMB committees; and <u>Cheryl A. Vaught, J.D.</u> who served as a board president and also served in the national arena with her service on the FSMB Board of Directors and as the president of the FSMB Foundation.