State Medical Board of Ohio



The first Ohio Medical Practice Act was adopted on Feb. 27, 1896 and the first meeting of the <u>State Medical Board of Ohio</u> followed nearly one month later on March 24, 1896. Responsible for licensing allopathic physicians, the board consisted of seven members, all allopathic physicians.

The board's oversight responsibilities grew over the years to include osteopathic physicians in 1902, limited practitioners such chiropractors in

1915, physical and occupational therapists in 1959, physician assistants in 1977 and cosmetic therapists in 1992. Subsequently, the oversight of chiropractors, physical and occupational therapists and midwives was transferred to other state licensing boards. By the mid-1980s, board membership had increased to 12 with the addition of three consumer members, one podiatrist and an osteopathic member.

From 1917 to 1966, <u>Herbert M. Platter, M.D.</u>, served as secretary of the board. At that time, the secretary was the administrator of the board's staff and activities. After building a superb 49-year administrative record, Dr. Platter retired at the age of 96.

The board established the Ohio Quality Intervention Program in 1995 to address standard of care issues with individual practitioners in a confidential and non-disciplinary manner. In 1996, the Ohio Medical Board began requiring medical and osteopathic applicants to use the Federation Credentials Verification Service and in 2004, the board piloted the use of the Common License Application Form now known as the Uniform Application. The board extended its track record of innovation in 2007 by launching "Partners in Professionalism", an educational outreach program with the Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine to teach ethics and professionalism to first-year medical students.

Many Ohio board members have provided leadership to the FSMB as past presidents/chairs including: Herbert Platter, M.D. (1929-30), <u>John M. McCann, M.D.</u> (1953-54), <u>Frederick T. Merchant, M.D.</u> (1970-71), <u>Henry G. Cramblett, M.D.</u> (1980-81), and <u>Ronald C. Agresta, M.D.</u> (2002-03). In addition, board member Raymond Albert was elected to the FSMB Board of Directors in 1991 and Executive Director Ray Q. Bumgarner served as the Associate Member on the FSMB board in 1995. More recently, <u>Lance A. Talmage, M.D.</u>, was elected to the FSMB Board as Board Secretary in 2008 and is elected FSMB's Chair-elect in 2011. In addition, <u>Richard A. Whitehouse, Esq.</u>, currently serves on the FSMB Board of Directors as a Director-at-Large.