Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands Health Care Professions Licensing Board



In 2007, the governor of the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI) signed a new law regulating physicians, dentists and other health professionals called the Health Care Professions Licensing Act. The law updated the existing Medical Practice Act to protect the people of the CNMI by overseeing the quality of health care practice by licensed professionals. The health law renamed the Medical Profession Licensing Board to the Health Care Professions Licensing Board and made it an independent

regulatory agency.

The board regulates 28 professions including acupuncturist, audiologist, chiropractor, clinical social worker, dentist, dental hygienist, dental assistant, embalmer, emergency medical technician, medical or clinical laboratory technician, midwife, occupational therapist, optometrist, paramedic, pharmacist, pharmacy intern, pharmacy tech, physical therapist, physical therapist assistant, physician (medical), physician (osteopathy), physician assistant, podiatrist, professional counselor, psychologist, radiologic technologist, respiratory therapist, and speech and language pathologist. The board also issues permits to operate a pharmacy and a clinical laboratory. The Health Care Professions Licensing Board includes one dentist, two physicians and two members from other health care professions.